14:45 PM

Dave Campbell's Texas Football and Whataburger Team Up to Unveil the 2018 Whataburger Super Team

DALLAS -- Dave Campbell’s Texas Football and Whataburger are proud to honor the best and brightest stars in Texas high school football with the announcement of the 2018 Whataburger Super Team. Texas high school football fans across the state cast over 300,000 ballots on TexasFootball.com, and 40 outstanding athletes from all parts of Texas rose to the to top to be named with this unique honor.


Quarterback: Chase Griffin, Hutto

Running Backs: Deondrick Glass, Katy; Quintan Jackson, Benbrook

Receivers: Garrett Wilson, Lake Travis; Baylor Cupp, Brock; Jordan Whittington, Cuero

Offensive Line: Chandler Knandel, Aledo; Isaiah Hoofkin, Dulles; Stanley Mark, Cibolo Steele; Jayden Borjas, Edinburg Vela; Kicker: Cade York, Prosper

Utility: Daimarqua Foster, Wichita Falls Hirschi; Sincere McCormick, Converse Judson; Daniel Enriquez, Edinburg Vela; Darwin


Defensive Line: DeMarvin Leal, Converse Judson; Armonie Brown, Refugio; Jamie Ferguson, S.A. Madison; Trey Moore, Cuero

Linebackers: Chase Petter, Argyle; Wyatt Harris, Aledo; Daylon Green, San Angelo Central

Defensive Backs: Xavier Player, Cibolo Steele; Seven Sanchez, PSJA North; Brandon Joseph, College Station; Erick Young, Fort Punter: Colton Wilson, Abilene

Utility: Jack Koetting, Canadian; Anfernee Orji, Rockwall; Gage Graham, Stephenville; Marcus Riley, New Braunfels


QB: Malachi Brown, San Angelo Central

RB: A.J. Brown, Calallen

WR: Michael Hernandez, S.A. Southside

OL: John Brunner, Brock

DL: Aja Hernandez, La Feria

LB: Lucas Eatman, S.A. Reagan

DB: Hunter Bunch, Sonora

UT: Jonah White, Merkel

Headliners of the team include Hutto quarterback and UCLA signee Chase Griffin, Converse Judson defensive end and Texas A&M commit Demarvin Leal, Lake Travis wide receiver and Ohio State commit Garrett Wilson, Wichita Falls Hirschi running back and TCU signee Daimarqua Foster, and Cuero athlete and Texas signee Jordan Whittington.

“I do not envy the Texas high school football fans who had to select the Whataburger Super Team,” Greg Tepper, Texas Football managing editor, said. “Sorting through the best players in the state of Texas is extremely difficult. But the fans came through with an outstanding group of athletes who truly represent what Texas high school football is all about.”

In total, of the 40 Whataburger Super Team honorees, more than 35 are expected to play football at the next level.

“Whataburger and high school football are Texas traditions that go hand-in-hand,” said Rich Scheffler, Whataburger Vice President of Marketing and Innovation. “We’re proud to partner with Dave Campbell’s Texas Football to celebrate these talented players and we appreciate all the support from the fans who voted.”

Former Super Team winners include Andrew Luck (Stratford HS, Indianapolis Colts), Garrett Gilbert (Lake Travis HS, Carolina Panthers), Malcom Brown (Brenham HS, Los Angeles Rams), Jonathan Gray (Aledo HS, NFL), Kyler Murray (Allen HS, OU), Jamal Adams (Hebron HS, New York Jets) and Malik Jefferson (Mesquite Poteet HS, Cincinnati Bengals).

For more information on the Whataburger Super Team, visit www.texasfootball.com/whatasuperteam



Whataburger has focused on its fresh, made-to-order burgers and friendly customer service since 1950 when Harmon Dobson opened the first Whataburger as a small roadside burger stand in Corpus Christi, Texas. Dobson gave his restaurant a name he hoped to hear customers say every time they took a bite of his made-to-order burgers: “What a burger!” Within the first week, people lined up around the block for his 25 cent, 100 percent beef burgers served on five-inch buns. Today, the company is headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, with more than 820 locations in 10 states with sales of more than $2 billion annually. Visit www.whataburger.com for more information.



For nearly 60 years, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football has been “the bible” to millions of football fans across the Lone Star State. The annual summer edition of the magazine remains a rite of passage for all Texans, previewing every football team in the state — from the rabid world of Texas high school football, through the college ranks, and into the Dallas Cowboys and the Houston Texans. Over the course of six decades, Dave Campbell’s Texas Football remains the undisputed leader in Texas high school football, Texas college football and more. TexasFootball.com is the online home of Dave Campbell’s Texas Football, covering high school football, college football and recruiting all across the Lone Star State. From thought-provoking commentary to videos to podcasts to its daily live show, nobody covers football in Texas like TexasFootball.com.

Latest news